Go Back   PowerArchiver Forums > PowerArchiver 2013 > Tech Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2012, 02:06 PM
steje steje is offline
Senior Members
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: usa
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
extensions (.cbr) doesnt work properly in shell

I have a variety of comic book archive formats that I deal with:

.cbr == RAR file
.cbz == ZIP file
.cb7 == 7z file

I'm not sure if I did something myself to cause this, but I see that both CBR and CBZ files are listed under PA's File Formats list in Options. In addition, the shell has those file types described as "PowerArchiver RAR File" and "PowerArchiver ZIP File" respectively. In the case of CBZ files, I can drag-n-drop with the right mouse button and get the drop menu actions I've got configured in Options - namely, Extract Here and Extract to <folder_name>. But for CBR files, I get no such drop menu action. Using an alternative File Manager (Directory Opus) I can force the drop menu to appear, but PA just creates an empty folder from 'Extract to <folder_name>' action. My guess is it's trying to process the CBR file as if it were a ZIP format archive instead of a RAR format.

Theories aside... is there an official way to add an extension to be treated like specific type of archive format? If the CBR and CBZ files appear in the File Formats list because they're supposed to (and not because of somethign "I" did), then would PA not treating CBR files as RAR be a bug...?
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to steje For This Useful Post:
spwolf (04-17-2012)
  #2  
Old 04-17-2012, 01:03 AM
davidsplash davidsplash is offline
PA Super User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: london
Posts: 1,231
Thanks: 0
Thanked 31 Times in 28 Posts
this post should be in the wishlist. though has been asked for before. Basicall you want a windows style assocation window that ou can associates different formats too. I would much prefer if pa can automatically detect the format without changing the extention or having to associate the extension. this can be done
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2012, 10:09 AM
TBGBe's Avatar
TBGBe TBGBe is offline
Still Mainly Lurking
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 2,151
Thanks: 6
Thanked 102 Times in 94 Posts
steje, what version of PowerAchiver are you using?

Check under "Configuration / File Formats" - near the bottom there should be an entry for both CBR and CBZ.
Are these ticked (associated)?

Edit: Just reread your post - sorry I misunderstood.

Can you confirm that the shell extension options are correct for CBR. If so, then you may have found a problem.

Adding extensions by user is already in wishlist
http://www.powerarchiver.com/forums/...ead.php?t=4611
__________________
Terry

WinXP SP3

Last edited by TBGBe; 04-17-2012 at 10:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-17-2012, 11:43 AM
spwolf's Avatar
spwolf spwolf is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 8,159
Thanks: 783
Thanked 240 Times in 224 Posts
this is a bug then...
__________________
ConeXware, Inc.
latest PA release info on Facebook, Twitter | Follow us and win free PowerArchiver.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-18-2012, 01:17 AM
davidsplash davidsplash is offline
PA Super User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: london
Posts: 1,231
Thanks: 0
Thanked 31 Times in 28 Posts
i was talking about being able to associates any extension to an archive.

which could a sparate wish sorry
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-18-2012, 04:06 AM
Mili Mili is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 664
Thanks: 228
Thanked 62 Times in 58 Posts
logged in, thanks for the report!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-18-2012, 09:32 AM
steje steje is offline
Senior Members
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: usa
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
@TBGBe: I am using PA v12.12.03

And yes, I do have both the CBR and CBZ formats checked in the File Formats page under Options->Configuration. I don't know how I can really "confirm that the shell extension options are correct for CBR". The shell extensions are enabled to my preferences, and work on all other normal file extensions (most notably - all of the same CBR files simply renamed to RAR, extract fine using the drop-menu shell extension).

So... is PA defining these file associations itself? As I mentioned - I couldn't recall if I had monkeyed around with Windows file type associations to make that happen somehow. If PA is already supposed to be 'aware' of CBR files - then it would seem this may in fact be a bug.

To davidsplash point... the ability to specify our own extensions (and either manually associate it with a known archive format - or have PA figure it out dynamically) would be great... but if PA is 'supposed' to know about CBR files - then I'd prefer to keep this thread focused on that topic rather than enhancement requests.

@Mili: by "logged in" - does that mean you're acknowledging this is a bug - and it's been logged with support or something?

Last edited by steje; 04-18-2012 at 09:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-18-2012, 09:35 AM
Mili Mili is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 664
Thanks: 228
Thanked 62 Times in 58 Posts
Exactamundo Steje, let's see what the dev team has to say.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-18-2012, 10:03 AM
TBGBe's Avatar
TBGBe TBGBe is offline
Still Mainly Lurking
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 2,151
Thanks: 6
Thanked 102 Times in 94 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by steje View Post
@TBGBe: I am using PA v12.12.03

And yes, I do have both the CBR and CBZ formats checked in the File Formats page under Options->Configuration.
Yes. That's what I meant with my edit

Quote:
Originally Posted by steje
I don't know how I can really "confirm that the shell extension options are correct for CBR". The shell extensions are enabled to my preferences, and work on all other normal file extensions (most notably - all of the same CBR files simply renamed to RAR, extract fine using the drop-menu shell extension).
I just meant if, when right clicking on a CBR file in explorer, does PowerArchiver offer extract etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by steje
To davidsplash point... the ability to specify our own extensions (and either manually associate it with a known archive format - or have PA figure it out dynamically) would be great...
That is what the wishlist I linked to is about (note my request for not just ZIP).

For your CBR problem, devs are/will be looking at it.

Sorry if I confused you.
__________________
Terry

WinXP SP3
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-19-2012, 04:06 PM
steje steje is offline
Senior Members
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: usa
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Thanks for the replies...

@TBGBe: Yep - just wanted to be clear and specific.

About the context menu / shell extensions. I wasn't (don't) normally just right clicking on the file - I'm right-click drag and dropping to produce the 'drop menu'.

In any case, if I right click on the CBR file... I get the 'extract' context menu option... It seems to run but extracts nothing. However, if I open that same file (without even renaming it to RAR ext) in the PA GUI... it lists the file contents fine, and I can then extract them from within the PA UI to a folder by either hitting the Extract button on the toolbar, or by dragging them from the PA UI to a folder.

So, it appears to be a bug in the context menu handler / shell extension...?
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to steje For This Useful Post:
spwolf (05-23-2012)
  #11  
Old 06-18-2012, 08:55 AM
Mili Mili is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 664
Thanks: 228
Thanked 62 Times in 58 Posts
fixed in latest Beta!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-19-2012, 08:35 AM
steje steje is offline
Senior Members
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: usa
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Thanks Mili! Good to hear - appreciate the notification... was that in a v13 beta?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-19-2012, 08:38 AM
Mili Mili is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 664
Thanks: 228
Thanked 62 Times in 58 Posts
yes, latest beta (13.00.22)
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-19-2012, 03:46 PM
steje steje is offline
Senior Members
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: usa
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Thanks again... are there yet any soft guesstimates for when v13 may be planned for release?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-19-2012, 03:54 PM
spwolf's Avatar
spwolf spwolf is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 8,159
Thanks: 783
Thanked 240 Times in 224 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by steje View Post
Thanks again... are there yet any soft guesstimates for when v13 may be planned for release?
PowerArchiver 13.00 has been released already... Since beta 2, we consider it more stable than 2011 and you can start using it.
__________________
ConeXware, Inc.
latest PA release info on Facebook, Twitter | Follow us and win free PowerArchiver.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PAOP don't work properly deity Plugins 10 08-17-2010 11:23 AM
Changing file focus does not work properly Wepver Tech Support 11 12-12-2009 07:17 PM
Optimize docx/oo2 doesnt work on x64? Mameluke Tech Support 9 11-03-2008 08:28 AM
Shell extensions wonīt work on 9.63.1 James002 Tech Support 51 08-17-2006 04:58 AM
shell extensions don't work in winxp 64 jewishj Tech Support 2 05-03-2005 12:30 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.